The Sweetness of Vanilla WoW Part 1

The latest World of Warcraft expansion called “Wrath of the Lich King” was released on the 14th November 2008. Only the 2nd expansion after “Burning Crusade” after 4 years. In this 4 years a total of 11 million subscribers (including chinese farmers,bots,inactive players who’ve forgotten to cancel their subs) have played Blizzard’s most popular game and also the most popular MMORPG to date. WoW has made people gone nuts in real life. Alot of videos out there are also inspired by this game with an episode on South Park (Make love not War), The Guild, PurePwnage for example. Their latest expansion even broke record sales on GameStop/EB Games like 2.8 million copies sold in 1 day! WoWInsider and NeoWin have more on that. I am excluded from that since my budget for last month was really tight. I did get mine a week later though on the 26/11 LOL. Bought it online from OffGamers.

Oh, World of Warcraft how I still remember the good old days. The original hard copy I bought was from someone at Midvalley Megamall for RM150. I can’t really recall which year was that but I think it was 3 years ago. I’ve played few online games before WoW which was Ragnarok Online, ROSE online, Guild Wars and Final Fantasy XI. Recently it’s Age of Conan and WarHammer.

This just my opinion towards the games I played. Final Fantasy XI is great. I love their animation, character, the BGM and their players. Oh, and also the community, and the option you have before playing the game. You can log on to a chat room, check wallpapers, latest news and stuff. It was so much fun. What made me leave? The XP penalty when you died. OMG WTF? and it’s hard to solo the mobs 😦 . There was one time when I was a newbie black mage, there was another player who helped me kill stuff and even gave me money to upgrade my gears. LOL nice! So touched! But yeah, it was really hard to level in my opinion. The scenary in FFXI was also awesome if I have to add.

Ragnarok Online, full of bots. Not fun. ROSE online was OK, but in order to sell stuff you actually have to set up your shop and AFK while waiting for people to buy stuff from you. That lead to a massive lag issues in towns hahaha. And one day they decided to restart their game and all those high level characters will need to level their character from scratch again, screw that. Guild Wars, not my type, although it’s free and the spell,character,zone graphics were really nice it feels empty as you have to group with other players for quests. If you don’t you’ll need to hire 4-5 other AI’s to help you. So like every zone is like an instance and not like open world concept.

Leave a Reply

